Whisked away!

On Tuesday night we were supposed to be going out for dinner in Manchester with some friends*, but then David phoned and told me to pack an overnight bag (adding “Don’t ask any questions…”). We got to the station and David bought the train tickets (while I bought a Twirl from the vending machine). His cunning plan was foiled when a platform alteration was announced and so I knew we weren’t actually heading Manchester-wards at all, but were in fact off in the opposite direction. He didn’t say, but I guessed that we were probably going to Lytham St Annes because we love it there. And I was right.

And that wasn’t all, he’d booked us into Mode, which I’d mentioned a few times (but I didn’t know he was actually listening!) and there was a bottle of wine in the room. The room was fabulous, with an ENORMOUS bed and a (titchy) balcony. We got a taxi to Lytham and had dinner at Bosco and then got another cab back (it was way too windy and cold to walk).

In the morning, I braved the cold and had a cup of tea on the balcony, watching the sun come up over the sea. It was absolutely lovely, and all the more fabulous for being a total surprise.

Thanks, lovely husband. πŸ™‚

* Forgot to say that the friends had cancelled the previous week and David decided not to tell me, planning this instead. In case you thought we’d stood them up!

10 thoughts on “Whisked away!

  1. I don’t feel quite as guilty about having to postpone our meal now! Glad you had a lovely time, see you soon xx

Comments are closed.