Friends*

Remember when I went on Vanessa Feltz’s TV show and she mocked me for thinking my internet friends were real friends? Well I’ve been thinking about that lately, because my internet friends are, in actual fact, completely bloody fabulous.

I bring this up now because I keep having the urge to hug the computer and even I know that’s probably a little bit weird, so I decided to blog about it instead.

Yesterday I did my first ever book signing. It was at Waterstone’s in the Arndale and it was fun. I’ll blog about that too when I get a chance. People came to the store to see me and support me and they were all people I’d originally met online (in fact, three of them I hadn’t met offline until yesterday): Tom, Laura, Raimy and Liz (who I met via Twitter) and Sally*, who I met so long ago, I can’t even remember where – I have a sneaking suspicion it may have been on a Yahoo list (ah, the olden days…). Even though yesterday was supposed to be about selling books (um… I didn’t do much of that), the best thing for me was chatting with Tom, Laura, Raimy, Liz and Sally and I came home feeling very lucky that they’d taken time out of their day and fought their way through the pre-Christmas Arndale Centre crowds to come and say hello.

And then I got home and there was a parcel for me from Karen. I met Karen via Twitter too and she’s just lovely – always smiley and supportive and generally all-round fabulous. I’ve never met her in real life, but she took the time, trouble (and expense!) to send me this:

How lovely is that?! Thanks so much, Karen. We love it!

I’ve also received a Christmas present from my friend Gabrielle. I originally met her online too (and then met her in real life in Paris). I met Stella – who I’ve just been to LA with, did I mention that? – online too, back in the early blogging days. In 2007, I went to New York with my friend Lisa, who I previously hadn’t met offline either. (When I decided I wanted to do a charity walk in New York, I thought about who I knew who’d like to do it too and Lisa sprung immediately to mind. So we met for the first time at the airport hotel. And we got on brilliantly, as I’d known we would.) And I also remember the generosity of online friends every time I use my Kindle

In fact, I’d say most of my closest friends are people I originally met online. Luisa, Diane, Anne-Marie, Anstey, Erin, Stella (this is a dangerous game since I’m bound to forget someone…) and I just wanted to write this blog post – not to blow another raspberry at Feltz – but just to say how much I appreciate how lovely people can be.

* Every title I thought of for this post was cheesy (even cheesier than the post) so I gave up. Sorry.

15 thoughts on “Friends*

  1. I totally agree with you. I have some amazing, wonderful, kind, generous online friends. Of course they’re real! Just because they live a long way away, doesn’t make them not real friends.

  2. You are lovely! What a lovely decoration from Karen, is it edible?
    Wish I could’ve been at the Arndale yesterday too but I didn’t find out until too late! πŸ™‚ xx
    (I noticed the festive snow has made a return to your blog too … xx)

  3. Awww, I just wrote your name in a list of people I love the most today. (I did it before I read this, honest.)

    Online friends are lovely. My last eight years would have been awful if not for people I met online.

  4. What a great post. I agree online friends are wonderful. And this post really goes to show how thoughtful and nice and generous people are. I love those Santas!

  5. What a lovely post. I completely agree with you and the other commenters, online friends are fab. I don’t want to think about what my life would be like without all of the wonderful people I’ve met online.

  6. Aww! I love the fact you found a photo of someone hugging a computer πŸ™‚
    I want me some internet friends! A handful of friends I see regularly hog the life out of facebook and twitter and kind of distract me from making some friends on here ! Lovely. Go you on the book signing.

  7. *sticks tongue out at Feltz* love this post, mainly cos I’m mentioned πŸ˜‰ hehe im messing, I value my ‘online friends’ as much as my ‘IRL friends’ and pele find it really strange but I’ve met some of the loveliest peoe ever through the Internet so why shouldn’t I?!

    Also, love the family of Santas! πŸ˜€

Comments are closed.