So long, 2011

Despite starting about as badly as possible with my dad dying at the end of 2010, 2011 has been an incredible year for me, personally and professionally. I was going to write a big retrospective post, but I’m still full of cold and really can’t be bothered, so here’s a list of just some of the things that made 2011 such a great year:

Spending lots more time with friends and family. 

Me and D’s 15th wedding anniversary. 

Being interviewed on TV…

… and on radio twice (once with Harry!). 

Organising Authors for Japan, which raised £13,500. 

Discovering two completely awesome TV shows in Friday Night Lights and Parks & Recreation.

Seeing Take That, Bucks Fizz, Matt Goss and Todd Rundgren live.

Featherdown Farm. 

Taking Harry and Joe to see Show Me Show Me live. 

Della Says: OMG! shortlisted for the Lancashire Book of the Year award. 

Publication of Jessie Hearts NYC (and it being on Waterstone’s ‘Teen fiction we love’ list and Book of the Month in WH Smiths). 

Lovely holiday in Northumberland, despite the rain. 

Wall-e on the big screen in Manchester, despite the rain. 

Hosting a course in Writing YA. 

Fab weekend in Liverpool. 

Doing a school visit to my old high school. 

LA with my gorgeous friend Stella. 

Writing two whole books and getting a new deal with Orchard. 

Doing a mini tour of Lancashire libraries and actually having fun.

David’s surprise overnight in Lytham.  

My first book signing. 

Disneyland Paris with my lovely family. 

Joe’s first nativity. 

Thank you all so much for reading (both the blog and the books) and for being so supportive. Have a great night tonight and roll on 2012!

Photo of me in LA, taken by Stella
15 thoughts on “So long, 2011

  1. It’s not just you who looks like a chocolate fountain… my son’s teacher’s silhouette also did during their nativity.

    I would like to meet you next year. I know I’m not cool, but I do love you. Happy New Year to you and your gorgeous boys xxx

    1. Ha! Relieved it’s not just me. Yes, would be lovely to meet next year – and whaddaya mean you’re not cool?! Happy New Year to you too xxx

Comments are closed.