52 Books: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I approached this book with a strange mix of excitement and trepidation. Excitement because I absolutely adored Jojo Moyes’ last book The Last Letter From Your Lover, and trepidation because of the subject matter.

Me Before You is about two people – Louisa Clark and Will Traynor – but it’s also about disability, Dignitas and the right to die. I trusted Jojo Moyes enough to assume it wouldn’t be a worthy or depressing read, but still… I was unsure.

I shouldn’t have been, of course. Me Before You is a wonderful book. It’s sad, of course, but it’s also life-affirming and funny and thought-provoking.

Lou and Will are absolutely gorgeous characters and Lou’s family – her hilarious dad, anxious mother and selfish sister are all completely convincing. As are Will’s parents, who are understandably struggling with their son’s new situation, but not necessarily in the way you may think.

I didn’t want it to end.

7 thoughts on “52 Books: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. I’ve never read anything by Jojo Moyes, though I keep meaning to. I think if I’d seen what this book covered I’d probably have given it a wide berth so it’s good to hear such a positive review 🙂

  2. Just finished Reading Me Before You and loved it, cried unexpectedly in places and then cried all the wat through the last few pages, certainly thought provoking and makes you look around and realise how in a flash everything can change.

  3. Hello All. I read ‘Me Before You’ about a month ago. I finished the book in two days, although I was working on both those days. I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning because I literally could not put it down. Now, I have lent it to a friend of mine. She is onto the last few pages, and I caught her crying whilst reading it. She agrees that she cannot put it down either, and was up until 3 am last night, and only relented so as to be able to come into work today. One word – awesome… I wanted the story to never end… Please, JOJO, give us more like this…

Comments are closed.