Endless Love love

One day last week, I’d offered to pick David up from work and I left the boys at their grandparents’ and tootled off in the car. On the way Endless Love* came on the radio. I turned it up as loud as I could stand and sang along. Well… I say “sang”. I can’t sing at the best of times, I really can’t sing Endless Love. As someone pointed out when I mentioned it on Twitter, you find yourself trying to sing both parts, even when they cross over each other. (The ‘no one can deny’ bit is particularly tricky, but all the more satisfying for that.)

As I drove and sang I realised that I was about as happy as I could ever remember being. There’s something about singing in the car, isn’t there? And it’s even better when you’re singing such a cheese-tastic classic, I think.

* links to YouTube, but to listen, not to watch.

11 thoughts on “Endless Love love

  1. I don’t even know the words to Endless Love. But I do love singing in the car. It’s a peculiarly joyful activity.

      1. I know the words to lots and lots of songs, I just never think about what they mean. I was talking about this yesterday. It’s like I just don’t absorb information through my ears alone (Unless it’s you talking to me, of course!) which is why I don’t listen to audiobooks and possibly why I don’t get the appeal of podcasts.

      2. Oh, I should probably add that although I knew the words to “Let’s Just Kiss and Say Goodbye”- our tour bus song- I only really *listened* to them for the first time after I sent you the song via email. Hopeless!

  2. yes! There is nothing more satisfying to having an awesome song come on in the car, turning it all the way up and singing at the top of your lungs! glad its not just me!

      1. I thought the same thing! Then it just ended. LOL. I have to admit that’s probably the only real reason I want to one day learn to drive, taking long road trips and belting out songs. It just looks like fun.

  3. Try singing along to Beyonce’s Love On Top, each chorus goes up a key so I end up sounding like Alvin & the Chipmunks!

  4. Yep, there’s something about cars and music! Some of my happiest times have been on roadtrips with Tamara, belting out Gold Digger and anything Abba and trying to hit the high notes of Loving You. In moments like that, I feel completely free 🙂

Comments are closed.