Crashed potatoes

I’m no cook, we know that. So when I find something easy to make and absolutely flippin’ delicious, I feel I should share.

I can’t remember where I first read about ‘crashed potatoes’ but I’m so grateful. They work best with little new potatoes, but I didn’t have any of those last night, so I just cut the long thin potatoes we had into three.

Leave the skin on, parboil for 10 minutes, then stick them in a roasting pan or dish, add olive oil, salt and pepper (and I put in loads of garlic, cos I love garlic) and then gently squish the potatoes with a masher. You just want the skin to burst. Roast for about 15 minutes (depending on the size of your spuds, it could be a bit less or more – I checked mine after 10).

They don’t look like much on the photo, I know – this is partly because I can’t find the charger for my lovely camera and so I’m stuck with the unlovely BlackBerry – but they’re ace, I promise you.

3 thoughts on “Crashed potatoes

  1. The FRench do ’em this way: put small skin-on potatoes in a roasting tin, liberally soak with olive oil and fling rock salt on, half an hour in the oven before adding tons of rosemary (stripped from the stick) and billions of little garlic cloves (skin off and kernels removed to keep indigestion at bay). Keep roasting till garlic goes dark gold then crush, crush, crush with potato masher, scooping in all the olive oil.

Comments are closed.