52 Books: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

I bought this book when it first came out, but then, for some reason, put off reading it. I really wish I hadn’t because I LOVED it.

Amy’s moving from California to Connecticut following her father’s death. Amy’s not willing to drive and her mum (who’s already moved out) needs her car brought over, so arranges for Roger, the son of a friend, to drive both her daughter and her car cross-country.

Amy’s feeling guilty about her father’s death and abandoned by both her mother and her brother (who’s in rehab). Roger’s just been dumped and wants to know why. Neither of them is all that keen on a road trip, that is until they decide on a detour.

The book is interspersed with receipts, postcards and trivia from each state Amy and Roger pass through, which was a really nice touch (and REALLY made me want to go on a road trip), but the main thing I loved about this book was how real it all felt. I genuinely didn’t want it to end and this morning I found myself looking forward to getting back to it and then was really disappointed when I remembered I’d finished.

Can’t wait to read Matson’s next book.

4 thoughts on “52 Books: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Comments are closed.