It was a dark and stormy night…

If you follow me on Twitter or are a facebook friend, you’ll know that I got my editorial notes for Emma yesterday and I’m being a big baby about it. So much to do! So little time!

A couple of other authors have said that the worst thing about getting these notes is that you know the editor is right and I do (mostly, I don’t believe teenagers wouldn’t get Friends references!). But why does that make it harder instead of easier? I don’t know.

What I do know is that for the next couple of weeks I need to knuckle down like I’ve never knuckled before (come to think of it, I’m not sure I ever have knuckled before…) (Wait. Is that rude?) So that means going dark, internet-wise. You know, mostly. During the week.

And to make myself laugh, I’ve been doing this – I sing the music and everything. If you’re feeling miserable, you should totally try it. It cheers me right up, oddly enough.

11 thoughts on “It was a dark and stormy night…

  1. I feel your pain. That I HAVE A MOUNTAIN TO CLIMB OMG feeling is just so gloomy.

    But! You are brilliant and clever and you have actually done this before, so it will all be totally ok and hooray, lovely book at the top of the mountain. /profound metaphor

  2. I think one of the reasons knowing they’re right is so hard is because it makes you feel like a bit of a dunderhead (well, it does me, anyway) – how could I have got MY OWN BOOK wrong? It doesn’t seem right that someone else might know better about something you’ve invented entirely yourself. And yet they do …

    Or maybe it’s just because it means you have to do the changes.

    Good luck with the knuckling. You know you can do it, and the book will be fab!

  3. awww I will sending you all my good luck for the next two weeks Keris! I wish you well! (and teens will so get Friends references! L would and hes only 12!

  4. Good luck – I’m certain you will get there but just to be extra sure here’s some confidence juice – it really, um, works;)

    Oh and just to be sure I’ve cut your internet cable – that should solve the distraction problem hehe.

    Seriously though the book will come out the other side and be better for it, good luck 🙂

Comments are closed.