What would you put on Harry’s playlist?

Harry’s always been interested in music and frequently hears a song and asks us to add it to his playlist, which he then listens to over and over in the car (sometimes singing along despite wearing headphones, which is highly entertaining).

I decided recently that I’d make him a ‘Musical Education’ playlist and add a song each day that I thought he should hear / would love. Here’s what we’ve got so far:

Day 1. I suggested he should start with The Beatles. I played Harry a few songs and he went for Penny Lane.

Day 2. David had watched a documentary about Gerry Rafferty and so added Baker Street.

Day 3. H chose a version of Dancing in the Moonlight by Alyson Stoner that he’d seen in Space Buddies. :/

Day 4. Harry said he should have some opera and I chose Nessun Dorma, since it’s the most famous (at least it is to me).

Day 5. Man or Muppet. a) Because it’s fabulous and b) Because it won the Oscar for Best Song.

Day 6. Hello Hello by Elton John. Harry’s pick because he’d heard it in Gnomeo & Juliet. I argued for a better Elton song, but he wouldn’t be moved.

Day 7. Davy Jones died. I’m A Believer. Also the Google Doodle was to commemorate Rossini’s birthday, so we had a listen to some Rossini and bought the William Tell Overture.

Day 8. A Little Less Conversation by Elvis. Harry knows it from an advert and I said he had to have some Elvis.

Day 9. Don’t Worry, Be Happy by Bobby McFerrin. I looked it up for a blog post I was writing and knew Harry would love it.

Day 10. We Built This City by Starship. We went to see The Muppets again and Harry requested this song, which is featured in the film.

Day 11. Temptation by Heaven 17. Harry’s request. No idea where he heard it.

So. What I’d like to know is what you would put on the playlist. What songs does Harry need to hear and why? 

(Forgot to say that the favourite so far has been the William Tell Overture – both Harry and Joe do frenzied dancing to that one!)

31 thoughts on “What would you put on Harry’s playlist?

  1. My kids both loved these:

    REM – It’s The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
    They Might Be Giants – Don’t Let’s Start.
    Bellowhead – London Town

    Proper songs that they can sing along and dance to.

    1. Oh there’ll definitely be some Abba on there. And possibly Don’t Stop Me Now rather than We Are the Champions 🙂

  2. I agree with Scott, some They Might Be Giants is needed. Although I’d go for Birdhouse In Your Soul, because those lyrics always win with me.

    A few more…

    National Express – The Divine Comedy
    Big Yellow Taxi – Joni Mitchell
    U Can’t Touch This – MC Hammer
    The Beautiful Briny Sea (from Bedknobs and Broomsticks)
    Rad – Smoosh (because it’s kids making brilliant music)

    1. Good call on National Express – love that. And I spent all of yesterday singing Birdhouse in Your Soul, thanks to this comment!

  3. Video Killed the Radio Star
    Somebody’s Watching Me
    I Love Rock and Roll
    One Night in Bangkok

  4. Mr Blue Sky – ELO
    Sit Down – James
    We Close Our Eyes- Go West
    Live it Up – Mental as Anything
    Because they always bring a smile!

  5. If we’re talking TMBG, we could be here for days. All of them – but I am esp. fond of Particle Man.
    David Bowie – Space Oddity (5-yr-old niece adores it, though we have skipped over exploring what actually happens to Major Tom at the end)
    The Cure – Friday I’m in Love
    Sparks – This Town Ain’t Big Enough for the Both of Us
    Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick and Titch – The Legend of Xanadu

  6. 30000 Pounds of Bananas – Harry Chapin (brilliant musician who shares his name)
    Waterloo Sunset – Kinks
    Don’t Look Back in Anger – Oasis
    I Don’t Feel Like Dancing – Scissor Sisters

    and (if he wants a bit more ‘classical’ ) Carnival of the Animals

    1. Thank you! I’d actually already suggested Waterloo Sunset (after we saw a particularly lovely, um, sunset) and he wasn’t keen. Will try again. x

  7. Definitely some Queen! I’d try Bohemian Rhapsody as he seems to have very sophisticated tastes already. But any Queen really
    Ours loved Robert Palmer’s Addicted to Love because we taught them to air drum to it.
    Good Vibrations by the Beach Boys
    Every little thing she does is magic by The Police
    Little Lion Man by Mumford & Sons
    Peter and the Wolf for more classical

  8. RIGHT!

    MY CHEMICAL ROMANCE (Maybe not right now but one day he’ll need that info)
    Shiny happy people – REM
    good vibrations – beach boys (mentioned above. goooood choice)
    everybody needs somebody to love – The blues brothers OST (classic!)
    dancing in the dark -SPRINGSTEEN!
    Mr Blue Sky – ELO (Possibly THE happiest song ever!)
    Ever fallen in love – The Buzzcocks ( :D)
    johnny B.Goode – Chuck Berry
    should I stay or should I go – The Clash
    Dashboard Confessional (pretty much any of their stuff cause it’s like poetry)
    BOWIE!!!
    QUEEN!!!!
    Fall Out Boy-they are fun and pop punk emo
    If you like the muppets then stuff by Flight of the Conchords
    My Hero and Everlong – Foo Fighters
    GREEN DAY
    Jimmy Eat World
    Led Zep
    Motion City Soundtrack
    Muse
    Ray Charles – Mess Around
    You can’t always get what you want – Rolling Stones
    this charming man or panic by The Smiths
    Bouncing off the walls – sugarcult
    SUM 41 (again maybe not QUITE yet)
    Faith -Taking Back Sunday
    It’s not unusual – tom jones (gotta have a but of the Welsh king)
    i still haven’t found what i’m looking for – U2
    buddy holly – weezer
    THE WHO – either My Generation or Baba O’Riley

    ….

    so just a few then 🙂

  9. Tub Thumping – Chumbawmaba
    Hey Soul Sister – Train
    I Like to Move I – Erick More Club Mix Reel 2 Reel
    I Walk the Line – Johnny Cash
    You Sang to Me – Marc Anthony
    I Will Remember You – Sarah McLauchlin
    Born to be Wild – Steppenwolf
    Groove is in the Heart – Deee-Lite
    Soak Up the Sun – Sheryl Crow
    Montego Bay – Amazulu
    Hungry Like the Wolf – Duran Duran
    Take It Easy – Eagles
    My Baby Just Cares for Me – Nina Simone
    Bad Moon Rising – Creedance Clearwater Revival
    Brown Eyed Girl – Van Morrison
    Got to Give it Up – Marvin Gaye
    Here Comes the Sun – George Harrison
    Wonder Years Theme – Joe Cocker
    Car Wash for Peace – Jimmy Fallon
    If I Needed You – Lyle Lovett
    Mad World – Gary Jules
    Move This – Pump Up the Jam
    One Tin Soldier – Graham Blvd
    The Siamese Cat Song – Peggy Lee
    Breathless – Corrs or Thunder Only Happens When It’s Raining
    Fields of Athenry – Brian O’Donnell (only by this singer) (Veronica Guerin)
    Irish Heartbeat – Van Morrison/Chieftans
    Kiss Me – Sixpence None the Richer
    Sundown – Gordon Lightfoot

    I know, I went a bit crazy. And I didn’t even look at the CD collection.

  10. The Chain – Fleetwood Mac
    Walking In Memphis – Marc Cohn
    I’m The Urban Spaceman – The Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band
    Crocodile Rock – Elton John
    Spirit in the Sky – Doctor and the Medics
    Stand and Deliver – Adam Ant
    American Pie – Don McLean
    Eye of the Tiger – Survivor
    Feeling Good – Muse
    Shaddap Your Face – Joe Dolce
    Teach Your Children – Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young

    Regarding my lovely mama’s choice of Harry Chapin’s Banana song – listen to it yourself first, then see how many days it takes to leave your head. And if you’ll have to explain the end bit when “it was then he lost his head, and maybe an arm or two” (not quite as bad as it sounds but, um, yes)

    1. Shaddap Your Face! Ha!

      Oh he’ll be fine with losing heads – he’s obsessed with Horrible Histories, you know 🙂

  11. Anything by Rolling Stones. especially Paint it Black
    Children of the revolution – T-rex
    some cheesy party songs like Tiger feet and Hi Ho Silver Lining
    Twist and Shout
    Everlong or One of These Days by foos fights (or just everything by them)
    Bouncing off the Walls by Sugercult,
    Dashboard confessional,
    Cardiology album by Good Charlotte (its probably the best one)
    Emmylou by First Aid Kit
    Your Winter by Sister Hazel

    There’ll be more… bI’m sure of it but for now this will have to do! 😀

  12. Wow, loving all the song suggestions. A few I love but haven’t heard in forever.

    My suggestions are:

    New Radicals – You get what you give
    Bowie – Dance Magic Dance/ Dancing in the Street (or anything really – esp Labyrinth soundtrack)
    Dolly Parton – maybe an odd choice but some of her up temp ones are fab to dance to (Baby I’m Burnin’)
    Paul Simon – Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes
    Counting Crows – Accidentally In Love
    Bugsy Malone soundtrack (the kids movie is one of my top movies of all time)
    Eurythmics
    Van Halen – Jump
    Erasure – A little respect
    Santana
    Clannad – Harry’s Game
    Barenaked Ladies
    Is it wrong to add Phil Collins? My mum loved him and I remember loving his stuff when I was about Harry’s age, she used to play mix tapes including his music interspersed with love songs by Aaron Neville & Linda Rondstat (sp?) Tracy Chapman & Irish music by Mary Black and Van Morrison.

    I’m sure there’s tons more, my mind has gone blank.

    1. Ooh, some of mine and David’s faves in there. Love the New Radicals for one. And I’m amazed David hasn’t already stuck Jump on there. He’s always bleating on about VH.

Comments are closed.