If I were Queen (of Teen)…

Have you heard of the Queen of Teen award? It was founded in 2008 “to celebrate teen and tween authors… dealing with real-life issues in a way that is honest, entertaining and fun.”

Nominations are now open and I would be ever so grateful if you’d nominate me. It only takes a minute, honest.

I don’t expect you to nominate me without knowing what I guarantee* I will do if I’m lucky enough to win, so…

If I were Queen of Teen…

1. Libraries would not be shutting down. Absolutely not. And my local library would have a small Starbucks in the corner. (Coffee + cake + books = win!)

2. All children would have access to books…

3. …and no one would ever take the piss out of anyone for reading.

4. All phone boxes would be like this one.

5. I’d quite like the ability to make books come when you call them and to pause the world when engrossed in a particularly exciting bit, but I think that may be beyond Queenery. I think for that I’d need to be Grand Mistress of the Bookiverse or something…

So what do you think? Worth a nomination? I probably won’t go mad with the power…

* this is not a guarantee.

Oh and if you’d like to tell me what you’d do if you were Queen of Teen or Master/Mistress of the Bookiverse, then I’d love to hear about it! 

(Also had to add that it pained me to write “If I were…” even though I do believe that’s correct. Bloody Midge Ure has a lot to answer for.)

7 thoughts on “If I were Queen (of Teen)…

Comments are closed.