52 Books: Finding Your Way in a Wild New World by Martha Beck

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know how much I love Martha Beck. Her book Finding Your Own North Star quite literally changed my life and I’ll happily read anything she writes.

Her latest book, Finding Your Way In a Wild New World is actually much more “woo-woo” than her previous books, but the thing I love about Martha is she knows it’s woo-woo and she knows the reader will be rolling his or her eyes and thinking she lost her mind, but she doesn’t care and she’s totally got a sense of humour about it herself (most of the time – there were, admittedly, a couple of bits in this book that gave me pause, but I love her so I just skipped past them, merrily).

This book is, like Finding Your Own North Star, about finding your “true calling” but where North Star was about the work you’re meant to do, Wild New World is about your place in the world as a holistic part of the world. If I was going to explain it in a woo-woo way, I’d say it’s about being at one with plants and animals and the Earth itself, but then I don’t think anyone would want to read it. I wouldn’t want to read it. But I’m so glad I did. It’s inspiring and, I think, important. And way ahead of its time.

