How about some reader recommends?

I was just tootling around on Twitter and having a little ponder about how often I discover something when someone tweets about it and how lovely that is. And then I got to thinking about the bit in the front of the Guardian weekend magazine where people recommend stuff – websites, products, etc. – they love (I think the Guardian put it there as a counterpoint to all the whining in the letters page). A magazine used to do it too (Easy Living, I think) and I always enjoyed it.

All of which is a longwinded way of saying I’d love to do a regular ‘reader recommends’ page here on this blog. So if you’d like to tell me about stuff you’re loving and think others will love too – it can be ANYTHING AT ALL – you can either leave a comment here, use my contact page or email me (keris [dot] stainton [at] googlemail [dot] com).

I’d like to start off by recommending Grandma’s House, Simon Amstell’s BBC2 sitcom. It’s ace. (Thursdays, 10pm.) (Watch last week’s here.)

3 thoughts on “How about some reader recommends?

  1. I’ve just finished reading both “Zeitoun” by Dave Eggers [about an ordinary family’s life in New Orleans pre-, during, and post- Katrina] and “Blood Rites” by S J Rozan [a crime novel set in Hong Kong with a cracking plot, great central characters and such a fantastic portrait of the city that I want visit now!]
    I’d definitely recommend both!

    1. Thanks, Wendy! I don’t read crime, but I read the sample of Zeitoun a while ago and have been meaning to get back to it.

  2. Love this idea Keris, I keep meaning to catch Grandma’s House… I recomened listening to First Aid Kit… they are beautiful and I’m VERY obsessed with them at the minute. (theyre folksy/bluesy so I’m not recommending screamy stuff don’t worry! haha)

Comments are closed.