Emma Hearts LA: Emma’s house

I thought today I’d give you a sneak peek of my inspiration for Emma’s home in Emma Hearts LA.

I first heard about the Venice Canals in, I think, this book. I had no idea until then that Venice, LA had actual canals. I went googling assuming they’d have been filled in or dried up or something, because if there really were proper canals, I’d have heard about it, surely?

This was one of the first photos I found and I had it as my computer wallpaper for a while – isn’t it gorgeous? I started trying to find out more about the canals and found this site about their history. But I think it was only when I watched Valentine’s Day and Because I Said So that I realised I had to have Emma living on a canal.

I spent quite a lot of time “researching” on this site. (Where does research stop and “nosing around people’s fabulous homes” begin? Don’t ask me.) And this was the house I loved and thought was perfect for Emma’s family.

When we were in LA last year, I marched poor Stella around to find it and we eventually did, but I was disappointed that it’s no longer that gorgeous red, which was one of the things I loved the most about it.

See those birds? They’re in the book 🙂

Just a couple more canal pics…

8 thoughts on “Emma Hearts LA: Emma’s house

  1. GORGEOUS!! 😀 I wouldn’t mind living somewhere like that myself…!! Just how much is one of those darlings worth!?!?!?!?!

    1. Emma’s house was listed at $1,999,000, which actually doesn’t seem so bad to me, since you can pay more than that for a semi-detached in London…

  2. Oh, so gorgeous! Before you went to LA, I didn’t know the canals were there, either (even though I’ve been to Venice Beach… duh) and I’d wondered where that scene on the lovely bridge in Valentine’s Day was filmed. You might want to take a look at Bent, btw (on Hulu), it’s quite funny and it’s set in Venice. Really makes me want to live there.

    1. They keep them v quiet, don’t they? It’s odd. Haven’t heard of Bent, thanks. (Just typed “thanks for Bent tip” – um, no.)

  3. Gorgeous! I loved the canals in Emma and didnt even realise they existed in real life! I want to visit (and have my own house there of course!)

Comments are closed.