52 Books: The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

I’d seen lots of people tweeting enthusiastically about this book, but it was this review by Fiona McCallion that finally convinced me to give it a go.

I downloaded the sample and, once I got to the end, just wasn’t willing to stop reading and so bought it. I know that’s one of the main benefits of the Kindle, but I usually add books to my wishlist rather than buying them immediately. I’d say this is maybe only the third time I’ve done it? (I might be kidding myself there, but I certainly don’t do it often.)

Anyway. I absolutely loved it. I worried it would be too sad and it is in parts – not helped by the fact that the main two characters have the same names as my parents – but it’s ultimately life-affirming. I finished it last Thursday and Harold has popped into my head numerous times since. I can tell he’s one of those characters that I’ll wonder about in the future. I hope he’s okay.

Here’s the blurb:

When Harold Fry leaves home one morning to post a letter, with his wife upstairs hoovering, he has no idea that he is about to walk from one end of the country to the other.

He has no hiking boots or map, let alone a compass, waterproof or mobile phone.

All he knows is that he must keep walking.

To save someone’s life.

2 thoughts on “52 Books: The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

  1. The blurb for this book sounds so interesting and the fact that you couldn’t put it down makes me want to read it.

  2. Aw, I was so glad that you decided to read it! I didn’t realise the coincidence of the names, isn’t that so strange and interesting… I hope it wasn’t too sad! I just felt really good and strongly (?) about the book. Best read in a long time. Thank you for the mention, chuffed xx

Comments are closed.