Homeschooling Harry: Week Five

Sorry I didn’t post last week. I was away and so David took over homeschooling duties (which you can read about on Harry’s blog).

A few things have happened as a result of my ranty Week Three post. The first thing was that I got called in to see Harry’s headmistress. I don’t mind telling you, I was afeared. I do tend to let off steam on my blog without thinking about the consequences and I thought I was in for a telling off. (David said, “Yeah, I thought maybe a teacher would read it and not like it…” He didn’t think to mention that to me though!)

Anyway, my fears were unfounded. Harry’s Head was fantastic. Totally supportive of what I’m trying to do, fine with me skipping the curriculum. She even ended the conversation by saying, “Keep going. You’re doing a wonderful job.” I went in to see Harry’s teacher too and it turns out she never expected me to do the worksheets – she’d just given them to me to give me an idea of the levels they work to. I must admit to feeling a pang of guilt, but I hope it was clear in my post that it’s the education system I have a problem with, NOT Harry’s teacher or school.

Which brings me to the comments about the above post, but left on the other Week Three post. I assume my posts have been flagged up on some sort of anti-homeschooling forum because the commenters certainly didn’t seem to have read the posts. Naively, it didn’t even occur to me that some people would have a problem with me deciding to do this. It should have done because of course I know how parenting can be a minefield of judgement, but it really didn’t.

The latest comment is much more polite, but one part keeps going round my head.

“At my child’s school they have a class assembly on Fridays so that each class takes it in turn to demonstrate what they have learned in a particular topic. My child would hate to miss Fridays as he enjoys the assembly especially when it the turn of his class. It gives him confidence to stand and say his piece in front of the whole school. It is a shame they do not do this as your child’s school.”

Well, they do do that at Harry’s school. In fact, his class assembly was yesterday. His teacher asked if he’d like to come in and do the assembly with the rest of his class – she’d written a part for him – but equally it wasn’t a problem if he’d rather not. He thought about it for a few days and eventually decided he didn’t want to do it. Not because he doesn’t have “the confidence to … say his piece in front of the whole school”, he’s done that lots of times over the past few years, but rather because he now sees Fridays as being for homeschooling and we’re both happy with that. The bit of the comment that really annoyed me was “It is a shame they do not do this [at] your child’s school”. Say they didn’t do it at Harry’s school – who is this person to decide that’s “a shame”? Without knowing anything else about the school or the child(ren) concerned? I find it really odd. But it’s probably something I’m going to have to get used to.

In other news, I read Seth Godin’s free ebook, Stop Stealing Dreams: What Is School For?, and it blew me away. So much to think about.

What we’re doing and why.

All Homeschooling Harry posts

10 thoughts on “Homeschooling Harry: Week Five

  1. Wow. Some of the comments on that other post were truly weird. The internet seems to be a haven for those prone to becoming disproportionately incensed over issues which don’t concern them in the slightest. I suspect they somehow feel that someone choosing to do things differently judges *their* approach to life in some way? (Even though it doesn’t).

    I think the fact that Harry chose not to do the assembly is really interesting. I think that probably speaks for itself in terms of what he’s getting from the home schooling. Also it’s just so great that he gets practice at making decisions and is involved in his own learning.

    1. Thanks, Lauren. Yes, that was something that shocked me about the comments – no interest in what either the parents *or* the children might want.

  2. We’ve been homeschooling since my first was born ( well I mean she’s never been to school! I’m not one of those mums who has a baby on the boob and is showing her flash cards at the same time!! People do, people do…..!!) Anyway, homeschooling in any way, shape or form is so beneficial for most children but you will always ALWAYS encounter people who think it’s their duty to tell you you are wrong. ( often in part because they worry you might be RIGHT and they aren’t doing it….!! Fear is a great motivator behind a lot of people’s arguments. ) There are many wonderful books out there… anything by John Taylor Gatto is a good read too! Enjoy your journey and know that there are millions of people on a similar journey with you!

    1. Thanks, Tiffany. Yes, I definitely got the fear vibe from the comments too. Have added John Taylor Gatto to my reading list. You should definitely read the Seth Godin, if you haven’t already.

  3. I want to homeschool my children when we live on the boat and it hadn’t even crossed my mind that some people might be upset about that. I don’t believe there can be one single right way to educate every individual. I like your style, Keris.

    1. Thanks, Alison. That’s exactly it, isn’t it – it’s about finding what works for your family. When’s the boat happening? (Exciting!)

  4. I just want to clarify my interpretation of the word ‘shame’ on my last post. It was with the thought of long assemblies on Fridays that you mentioned, I think on week one of your blog. From this I envisaged small children having to sit for a long time listening to adults talking; this brought back memories of my own school days in which I found assemblies boring. The interaction the children have in modern school assemblies is much more agreeable. I can see that I did not explain my thoughts adequately and I am perturbed that you felt my comments were derogatory to your wish to home school Harry.

    1. Thanks so much, Harry. No, it’s probably my fault. I was feeling all prickly after the previous two comments. I really appreciate you clarifying your comments.

Comments are closed.