Simplify/Focus

On Friday, I turned 41. On Saturday, we lost yet another family member. It’s made me think. Actually, it’s just made me think more about things I’ve been thinking for a while. You know.

There’s this (which is, these days, constantly in the back of my mind). There’s the line from my other uncle’s epitaph: “And once… he went to Jersey”. There’s the fact that I can practically see Harry and Joe growing in front of my eyes.

There are so many things I want to do. With writing. With blogging. With homeschooling. With my family. And I spend a lot of time procrastinating and just basically faffing about. And that’s a lot of fun – I wouldn’t do it if it wasn’t – but it also takes a lot of time. Time that I know could be better spent. So I’m cutting back. Streamlining. Getting organised.

This means less Twitter, Facebook and blog reading. It may actually mean more blogging, since I’ve enjoyed NaBloPoMo. But if I unfollow/unfriend/unsubscribe PLEASE don’t be offended. It’s not you, it’s me. Really.

If you’ve been following me for a while, you’re probably going, “Yeah. Heard this before. Anyone remember internet-free weekends?” I know. And, you know, this may not work. I may creep back and blush to remember this post. I hope not. Or you may not even notice. Because I’ll still be tweeting and FB’ing and blogging. Just not as much. Probably.

16 thoughts on “Simplify/Focus

  1. Similar thoughts in my head at the moment. I have so many things I want to write and seem to waste so much time faffing and procrastinating. Time to take action and kiss butt! I am on a mission to make the most of every day and get THINGS done!

  2. So interesting to read this as it reflects so much of what I’ve been thinking and doing for the last week or so. There just aren’t enough hours in the day, and there certainly aren’t enough useful ones to do everything I want to.

    I’ve started cutting people from my FB, got rid of some of the Tumblrs I follow, I’ve unfollowed a load on Twitter (and muted others to see whether I actually miss them or not, so far haven’t missed a single one) and on Friday night I deleted over 100 feeds from my Google Reader.

    So good luck with it!

    1. Thanks. I’ve been muting on Twitter and FB and unfollowing on Tumblr too. At the very least, it’ll give me more reading time!

      1. I think it’s been so interesting today to see everyone commenting on here and on Twitter saying the same thing.

  3. Apart from your recent loss, I could’ve written this post. I really want to faff-less and be more productive; if you have any tips, please share! Sidenote: I showed my daughter her first episode of Friends last night (from season 2, if you’re interested) and the double-whammy of remembering watching it and laughing with my friends at university and the head-spin of watching and laughing with my big-girl-growing-up-so-fast-brilliant-daughter was almost overwhelming. I might have cried a little bit. With every step my children take, I think ‘how can something so wonderful and happy-making hurt so much?’ Blimey. Bet you wish you hadn’t pressed ‘publish’ now?! I’ll get back to work…

  4. I’ve got some good news, and some bad news. The bad news is, it gets worse. Time passes more quickly and your awareness of it passing becomes more acute. There’s an increasing amount of it behind you and less in front. It sounds obvious, and it is, but it moves closer to the forefront of your mind, more often. Not in a morbid way, just in the way it grabs more of your attention.

    The good news is, not only does it get easier to focus with practice, but – assuming it works for you the way it’s worked for me – you’ll also get better at taking satisfaction from previous achievements (and you have a LOT!). I’m not pretending I don’t still play way too much Spider Solitaire, but novel #2 is not going to take anywhere near as long to write as War of Nutrition did.

  5. I’ll miss you faffing about on Twitter but if it means more Keris writing & blogging, I’m all for the new objective.

    Like the others, I identify strongly with how you’re feeling right now.

  6. Well, I’m 62 and I’m still faffing, procrastinating and wondering what on earth I’ve done with my life. I’m looking forward to doing all the other things I still want to do. Yet some of the people I went to school with have already left this life. And that’s really scary. I don’t want to go yet, not while I have so much still to do. I can’t organise myself at all but I do so enjoy all the faffing! A good friend (she’s even older than me) says it doesn’t matter what you do, as long as you’re happy doing it. It’s always been difficult for me to separate the ‘should do’ from the ‘enjoy doing’. Reading through Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s article, I found it amazing that she and I have had the same thoughts – we’ve never met, she’s younger than me, she’s American . . . but the one thing we do have in common is that we are having to come to terms with the fact that we are not immortal. And I’m 15 years older than she is! Help! So if you have to prune me I won’t be offended, nay! I may even be doing the same thing myself. Enjoy! 🙂 xxx

    1. It’s it scary, isn’t it? A while ago, my aunty said something about how she goes to bed knowing she might not wake up in the morning and I just can’t even… I still haven’t got my head around the fact that I am going to die. I keep thinking about it and telling myself, but it just doesn’t seem to be sinking in. But that Amy article – thinking there’s a finite number of times I’ll kiss the boys… that brings it home.

  7. Gosh, I can really relate to this post in so many ways. Good luck with everything xx

Comments are closed.