Kathryn Joosten

“Some people in Hollywood think of me as a model for dramatic midlife transitions: suburban housewife to Emmy-winning actress. But I never plotted out a master plan for following my dreams.”

I had no idea that Kathryn Joosten didn’t begin her acting career until she was in her forties. All I knew about her was how completely awesome she was in The West Wing – it’s one of my favourite all-time shows and her character, Mrs Landingham, was one of my favourite characters.

When I heard that she’d died (via my friend Anne-Marie), it made me cry. Joosten was a wonderful actress and, judging by the bio on her website (where the above quote is taken from) a pretty amazing person too.

I got an email from Miss Representation this week, suggesting subscribers should “champion” an inspiring woman. Kathryn Joosten certainly fits the bill. She’ll be very much missed.

One thought on “Kathryn Joosten

Comments are closed.