52 Books: 11.22.63 by Stephen King

I think Stephen King’s an amazing writer, but I just can’t read horror so I’m always interested in his non-horror books. I was particularly interested in this one because I’m sort of fascinated by the Kennedy assassination (isn’t everyone?) and because I always like the idea of going back in time and changing the future (that probably comes out of my early Back to the Future obsession, eh?).

I thought 11.22.63 was going to be sort of like Mark Lawson’s Idlewild, i.e. it was going to be about what the world would have been like if Kennedy’s assassination had been foiled. It wasn’t like that at all, but it was just as brilliant as I expected it to be. I won’t say any more than that because I don’t want to spoil it for anywone. (I spoiled it for David with one syllable. Oops.)

3 thoughts on “52 Books: 11.22.63 by Stephen King

  1. Ooh! Glad you enjoyed it, Keris; I’m about halfway through and absolutely loving it… And I feel the same way about Stephen King! I read Misery and some of his other horror ones when I was a teen, but I’m more of a wuss these days.

    1. It’s totally absorbing, isn’t it? I even dreamt about it and it’s not often that happens. I read Misery in one sitting on a coach years ago and loved it, but I had to read a couple of the proper horror novels for uni and they scared the crap out of me.

Comments are closed.