52 Books: Holiday reading (part 2)

[If this shows up in your readers – yes, I’m writing it aaaages late!]

I’ve read all of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum books, but I no longer snatch them off the shelves, more eye them warily, wondering if this one will be the last I’ll read. I still enjoy them – I love Stephanie, Morelli, Lula, Grandma Mazur – but they’re SO samey. I’ve got to the point where I’m not sure whether or not I’ve read the latest. I did enjoy Explosive Eighteen though, so I’ll be buying the next. (Also, they make me feel old. I bought the first one in Athena in The Trocadero. There’s a new book each year. I’ve been reading them for eighteen years. Oy.)

I’d been meaning to read Anna Carey’s The Real Rebecca for ages. It’s sweet and funny and I really loved Rebecca and her crush, Paperboy. I’m looking forward to the next book in the series, Rebecca’s Rules (out next week!).

Finally, I read You Are a Writer by Jeff Goins. Not sure how I stumbled across this, but I loved the subtitle: So Start Acting Like One. It’s a quick read and one I think would be useful to a lot of writers, particularly those just starting out. Lots on building a platform and getting freelance work from your blog.

