52 Books: Holiday reading (part 3)

I read Caddy’s World, the latest in Hilary McKay’s Casson Family series, a while ago and adored it, but hadn’t read any of the other books in the series, so I took the first – Saffy’s Angel – on holiday. It’s gorgeous (as I knew it would be) and this bit in particular made me give a little squeak of joy:

The only things that grew in the garden were guinea pigs. Caddy owned at least half a dozen of them, scattered around in ramshackle runs and hutches. Occasionally they escaped and flocked and multiplied over the lawn like wildebeests on the African plains.

I also started Half-Assed by Jennette Fulda (but didn’t finish it until weeks after we got home) and My Life in France by Julia Child, which I still haven’t finished. I’m enjoying it, I’m just finding it slow-going.

