52 Books: The Diviners by Libba Bray

I was intrigued by The Diviners from the first time I heard about it. Not only because Libba Bray is an amazing writer, who manages to range between genres unscathed (selling millions of books will do that for a writer), but also because it’s set in New York in the 1920s. Of course I would want to read that. (The film rights sold for seven figures. That intrigued me too.)

All that aside, though, The Diviners isn’t the kind of book I’d usually read. Because it’s scary. I just watched the trailer – because I’d seen a few bloggers talking about it – and it almost made me wet myself. Genuinely. I actually thing the trailer is a LOT scarier than the book (there’s something about that creepy nursery rhyme singing…  shudder), but the book is indeed creepy. VERY creepy in parts.

BUT! I think you should read it anyway. Because it’s just a brilliant story, brilliantly written, with wonderful, convincing, characters. My only criticism is that I didn’t get the feel of New York in the same way I did with, say, The Alienist by Caleb Carr, but that may just have been me. Really looking forward to the next book in the series.

4 thoughts on “52 Books: The Diviners by Libba Bray

  1. The Diviners has motivated me to get rearranging my bookcases so I can get my copy of this onto an actual shelf, rather than leaving it on the bed in the spare room where it’s been since I got it. Such a beautiful cover, I’m so looking forward to read it!

Comments are closed.