This one time, at BlogCamp…

Photo by Sally Whittle

When I got my book deal, my editor asked me if I’d be willing to do school visits, etc., and I almost threw up. I said yes, yes I would, but I remember thinking “Yeah. When hell freezes over!”

Giving ‘talks’ was my absolute worst thing at school (I did one on budgies and another on Bucks Fizz). And then at university (by which time they’d been renamed ‘presentations’). The thought of standing at the front with everyone looking at me… *shudder*

But then I got invited to do a school visit and I loved it. Okay, some of it was mortifying and I still feel slightly sick remembering it, but it was also thrilling and inspiring. I haven’t done loads of visits, but I’ve done a good few and I get more confident each time (I’ve been really lucky that I’ve done most of them with a couple of Lancashire librarians who are so lovely and supportive that they make it very easy for me).

But then I was invited to speak at BlogCamp. And that would be in front of grown-ups. My first thought was “Hell no!” but then I remembered this

Can’t find the original source, sorry.

and so said yes.

And I really enjoyed it. I was terrified, spent the last few minutes attempting to talk with absolutely no moisture in my mouth at all, and didn’t stop shaking for about fifteen minutes after, but I still enjoyed it. No, really.

And – as with the Vanessa Show fiasco experience – I was just so proud that I’d done it.

Thanks so much to Sally Whittle for organising it all and inviting me and thank you to all the bloggers who were so encouraging on the day (when you’re not really sure that you’re making any sense, it’s really helpful to see people smiling and nodding) and who have tweeted and blogged lovely things since.

(No flutes were harmed in the making of this post.)

7 thoughts on “This one time, at BlogCamp…

  1. Yay you! Yay swanky Google backdrop! Bet you were fabulous.

    (Also: hello, hivemind. The faintest mention of ‘public speaking’ at school meant weeks of sleepless nights for me, and now… well, it’s still scary and sometimes I can’t manage it at all from stupid breath-stealing nerves, but usually it’s ace.)

  2. Well done on doing something that terrifies you! I’m still working on doing scary things as regularly as I can in order for them to be less scary. Or at least until I can realise that they aren’t as scary/horrifying as I first thought they were.

    Blogcamp sounds like a really fun event too!

  3. Brilliant. And I love the diagram – need to put that on my wall. I think most editors know that many authors secretly think a similar response to yours when they ask such a question. But it’s great to hear that you kept to your external words and not your internal ones!

Comments are closed.