52 Books: The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes

Oh I was so desperate to read this book. Not just a new Marian Keyes, but a Walsh Family book! I was lucky enough to get a proof copy (sent by a lovely Twitter friend) and I settled down to read it straight away.

And I loved it. Of course I did. I can’t add anything to this fabulous review by Jojo Moyes, except to say that I finished reading it on the train and had to stifle my sobs. (I always seem to end up reading books that make me cry on the train!)

I’m worried now that there will be no more Walsh Family books. But my friend Alison pointed out that baby Kate from Watermelon is a teenager now (she briefly appears in The Mystery of Mercy Close too) so maybe we’ve got the Walsh Family: Next Generation to look forward to. I really hope so.

5 thoughts on “52 Books: The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes

  1. I saw this in my shop on Friday & it looks gorgeous, but I have never read any Marian Jeyes (outrageous, I know). I wonder if I should start at the beginning of the Walsh stories?

    1. I don’t think you *have* to start at the beginning, but I think it would be better if you did – then you’d see the characters growing and changing. I’m going to go back to the start and read them all again. It’s 15 years since I read Watermelon!

Comments are closed.