Won’t somebody think of the children?!

In the car, just now, on the way back from the supermarket. Joe saw an ice-cream van painted with Winnie the Pooh characters, including Kanga and Roo.

Joe: “She is his mummy.” (We’re still working on pronouns.)
Me: “Yes, Kanga is Roo’s mum.”
Joe: “Where is his daddy?”
Me, spotting a teachable moment: “I don’t know. But not everyone has a daddy. Some children just have a mummy. Some children have two mummies and some have two daddies.”
Joe: “Why?”
Me: “Why what?”
Joe: “Why two daddies or two mummies?”
Me: “Because sometimes a man and lady* fall in love and have babies and sometimes a man falls in love with another man or a lady with another lady.”
Joe: “Why do they do that?”
Me: “They just do. People fall in love with who they fall in love with.”
Joe: “Mama?”
Me: “Yep.”
Joe: “Ducks don’t eat crisps.”

* I don’t know why I went with “lady”.

8 thoughts on “Won’t somebody think of the children?!

    1. It’s weird, isn’t it? I try to use ‘woman’, but it sounds impolite, which is just mad. I end up saying “That lady… I mean woman…”

Comments are closed.