The next big thing

I was tagged by the gorgeous Rowan Coleman to answer these questions. I’m a bit wary since I’m still writing the book and no one really knows much about it, but I’ll do my best… (and I’ve included some pretty photos of trees – taken by me – to liven things up). 

What is the working title of your next book?

Lilly’s Wish. Not a very exciting title, but I’m rubbish at titles, and it’ll do to be going on with.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I can’t remember. I know I was thinking about wishes, but the rest of it – the bit I can’t really say – came out of nowhere. Or rather the same mysterious place ideas always come from…

What genre does your book fall under?

Magical realism for 9-12? Although I’m not sure if that’s really a genre…

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Blimey. I’ve no idea. I’ve got a really clear picture of Lilly in my head and I feel like I know the actress who should play her, but I just can’t grab it. Small. Dark hair. Cute. Oh actually, I just realised I’m thinking of a little girl I used to babysit, not an actress at all. She must be about 25 now though, so she can’t play her. I’ll have to keep thinking…

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

I can’t say! ‘Be careful what you wish for’ is sort of a clue, I suppose.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I don’t know yet. I’m out of contract at the moment and I haven’t finished it, so it’s all open right now.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

I haven’t finished it! I’m just over halfway through and stuck in my usual ‘wanting to write – putting off writing – writing and loving it – putting off writing’ cycle. And no, knowing that I do this every single time doesn’t seem to help me stop. Gah.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I can’t think of any within my genre, but since I started writing it, I keep thinking about Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen. I’d love it if I could make it even a squillionth as magical as that book.

• Who or what inspired you to write this book?

It was partly inspired by the Year 6 class in Harry’s old school. Once I had the idea, I went in to the school to talk to the students about it and they were all kind enough to share their wishes with me – written on luggage tags, which is what happens in the book – and some of them have inspired events in the story. They’re actually really gorgeous. Here’s just a few:

I wish that my Aunty Bill could come back alive. That’s what I would like to wish for.

I wish I could go in a shark cage.

I wish to be able to fly so I can grab my own star from the Northern sky.

I wish my arch-enemy got stung to death by bees!

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

There may be a talking dog…

My five writers for next Wednesday are:

Stephanie Burgis
Luisa Plaja
Sophia Bennett
Clodagh Murphy
Keren David

4 thoughts on “The next big thing

Comments are closed.