NoNaNoWriMo

Not this year. I had been planning to do it – I’ve done it pretty much every year since 2004 and two of my three published novels have been written during NaNovember, but this year…

I’m currently writing Lilly’s Wish and, though I planned to have finished it by now, freeing up my time to NaNo, I, um, haven’t.

But even when I thought I may finish it in time, the thought of NaNo gave me a smidge of a sinking feeling. One of the best things about finishing a book – for me – is that I then give myself a month or so off to read and do other things without having the constant ‘But you haven’t written anything today, have you?’ nagging to deal with.

I have a couple of books that I’ve started and need to either finish or rewrite/edit before I start something new.

Although I’ve always enjoyed just throwing myself into a book and writing writing writing without having a clue where it’s going – and that, for me, is the joy of NaNoWriMo – I feel like I need to try something a bit different. A change is as good as a rest and all that.

So instead of NaNoWriMo, I’m going to attempt to work my way through the Guardian’s How to Write a Book in 30 Days supplement (extracted from First Draft in 30 Days by Karen Wiesner). I’m going to do it for a book I’ve already started, but feel needs some structure: Rebecca Hearts Paris (working title!) and I’ll try to blog about it along the way.

Are you doing NaNo this year? Have you tried the First Draft in 30 Days method? Are you a panster or a plotter? Enquiring minds need to know.

10 thoughts on “NoNaNoWriMo

  1. I’m nano-ing this year mainly because I have never actually finished anything (and having a tight deadline to work to might do the trick), but mainly because it seems like a good framework to help a budding writer get on and get something properly done.

    Definitely like the sound of the “first draft in 30 days” thing, like a literary pressure cooker. Have to see what comes of it. I’ve got the grain of a great idea that I don’t think has ever been done in this particular way before but it might turn out to be nothing.

  2. Can’t believe you’re not doing Nano this year. It won’t be the same without you. But will be interested to see how you get on with the Guardian 30 days thingy. (I’m a pantser – but you knew that already.)

  3. That sounds like an interesting challenge, Keris! I took a quick look and it struck fear into my heart… I’m sure it will be brilliant to use on an existing project, though. Good luck!

  4. You’re working on Rebecca Hearts Paris!?!? Eeeee I hope the guardian thing works for you, I’m a pantser but so much of one I don’t write 😉

Comments are closed.