Stuff my parents used to say

8262417336_f6c706edda_b

I’ve written about pet names over on Girls Heart Books today. I thought of it because for a while now, I’ve been making a note of the words and sayings my parents used. So I don’t forget.

So along with “toochy face”, “chucklebutty” and “pigeon smidgeon” as mentioned in that post, there’s also:

Dolt

Doddle

Sufferin’ succotash (which Dad would say in a cartoony voice).

Sufferin’ hell (which Mum would say through gritted teeth).

Beat it while your boots are good

Put the mockers on it

What a maroon (Dad again).

Damn and blast

Piddle and twiddle (Mum. When she worked as a cleaner in Boots, she knocked over the mop bucket and said, “Piddle and twiddle!” The manager, joking, called out, “Language, Mrs James!”)

Twinges (meaning twins, i.e. “Are the twinges coming over for Christmas?”)

Co-inky-dink (for coincidence). Sometimes shortened to “co-inky” or “co-ink”.

Branny, short for “brand new”, i.e. “Went to see Jean’s branny baby.”

Will add more as and when I think of them. (Or my sister reminds me!)

8 thoughts on “Stuff my parents used to say

  1. The trouble with things the parents say is they tend to be very un-PC these days and I get told off for repeating them. The word ‘gay’ springs to mind and as for Aunt Fanny – well, daren’t make any reference to her now! 🙂

  2. I love that photo! Among my Dad’s many sayings were, “shut yer mush” and “put t’wood in’t’oil” (Put the wood in the hole, aka shut the door). My Mum was forever saying “twaddle” – and that was as sweary as she got. … My friend Moira always says co-inky-dink – sometimes shortened to co-inky, too. And she’s from Yorkshire! And, also went to elocution lessons when young. 🙂 x

  3. I love that picture! Some of the sayings I heard often growing up in the American South:

    “God-a-mighty knows” – My Grandmother, when she was mad about something

    “Yellow-bellied sapsucker” – an insult/disparaging comment by my Mama. I was stunned to find out years later that a yellow-bellied sapsucker is a migratory woodpecker. I still say “sapsucker” a lot. 🙂

    “Fer piece” – a substantial distance

    1. I LOVE “Yellow-bellied sapsucker”!

      My mum’s mum (who I never got to meet) used to say she was “madder than a wet hen.” I like that one.

Comments are closed.