August 2006: Movie meme

The first movie you remember seeing on the big screen:

The Cat From Outer Space. I remember the cinema was so hot we had to strip off to just our vests.

Movie from which you can quote multiple lines in your sleep:

When Harry Met Sally

– that symptom is f***ing my wife!
– you made a woman miaow?
– nah, you pretty much wanna nail them too
– no-one I know would call at this time
– Pecan Pie …
– I spy a family
– You’re right, you’re right, I know you’re right
– Do it to me, Sheldon

Director (dead or alive) that you’d most want to have dinner with:

Nora Ephron – Director, writer, feminist, New Yorker and funny. What more could you ask for?

Movie that should have won an Oscar but didn’t:

Um. I never know what’s won and what hasn’t. Let’s say Ghost. That Swayze is very underrated.

Movie that didn’t disappoint despite being the adaptation of a book:

Lord. How am I supposed to remember these things? How about one that did instead? The Power of One. The film could fit into a couple of pages of the book even though they added a love story that wasn’t even in the book!

Movie you were dragged to by someone else expecting to hate, but which you loved:

Well, I wasn’t exactly dragged, but I once got free tickets to Hot Shots Part Deux. I went because it was free, but I loved it. The bit where the Beau Bridges says “at ease” for the photograph kills me everytime.

Movie that scares the crap out of you no matter how many times you see it:

The Sixth Sense. The same bits get me every time: like Gabrielle, the woman walking past the door, Marissa under the bed and when Toni Colette comes into the kitchen and all the doors and drawers are open and poor little Hayley Joel Osment’s left sweaty handprints on the table.

Movie that makes you bawl no matter how many times you see it:

The Sixth Sense. The same bits get me every time: when he finally tells Bruce that he sees dead people “all the time”, when he tells Toni Colette her mum says she’s proud and when Toni asks him “what’s happening to you?” when he can’t sleep.

