Review: iPad Bluetooth keyboard from Groupon

1358166630373A few weeks ago I was contacted by someone from Groupon, the website for online shopping deals, offering me something of my choice (from their site, obv.) to review.

I went for a Bluetooth keyboard for the iPad. Harry and I saw the pilot was using one when we went up to the flight deck on the way back from our hols last year and we’ve been after one ever since.

Bluetooth-Keyboard-With-Aluminum-Shell-Case-for-iPad-2-EA101-You connect it to the computer by USB to charge it up,  connect it with the iPad via Bluetooth, and then you’re good to go.

The keyboard also acts as a stand for the iPad, turning it into a sort of slapdash laptop. It’s fine for typing on for emails, etc., but I wouldn’t want to write a novel on it. Not least because the position of the shift key means I keep touching the up arrow instead and hopping up a line in my document, which is INCREDIBLY annoying. But that’s probably something I’d get used to if I used it a lot.

You can also use it as a protective case, but when I did this, it took me forever to separate the case and the iPad (perhaps there’s a knack) and I got quite stressed (and scraped all the varnish off my thumbnails), so I won’t be using it for that (I’m happy enough fitting them together loosely when they’re in my bag).

All in all, it’s a really useful addition to the iPad, I just wish they’d shift that shift key.

