A song for space (inspired by Cmdr Chris Hadfield)

On Saturday morning I showed this video to David, Harry and Joe

and then we went out for the day. David remembered the title of the video as Tears Don’t Fall (in Space) and said it sounded like a song. And then he started making up lyrics and singing. It was awful.

We went to a kids’ playground and while the kids played, David scribbled furiously on a post-it note and, every now and then, sang us a bit of the song, which made me cry with laughter. By the time we were ready to go home, he’d written the whole thing and “performed” it for us on the train platform. And now – because I’m, er, kind – I’m sharing it with you…

TEARS DON’T FALL (IN SPACE)
For Commander Chris Hadfield

WORDS & MUSIC BY D STAINTON
© Fancy Bantam Music

I’m facing my final countdown
Feeling lonely as the dials spin round and round
But I’m the commander, can’t show no emotion
Getting love-sick as we surge into motion

Left my baby back home in Alberta
Two year mission, I know it’s gonna hurt her

(Tears don’t fall) tears don’t fall in space
Saltwater spreading all over my face
(Tears don’t fall) tears don’t fall in space
Space rocks, but it’s such an empty place

No optician up here on ISS
No-one to see what’s causing my distress
No dentist now I’ve got a cavity
Can’t fill this hole in zero gravity

Satellite’s down out on the space station
Gotta fix it or there’s no communication

(Tears don’t fall) tears don’t fall in space
Saltwater spreading all over my face
(Tears don’t fall) tears don’t fall in space
Space rocks, but it’s such an empty place

They say the hardest part of the night (is the night)
But tell me how can you know when it’s never light?
(Guitar solo)

Can’t help thinking back to yesterday
Of all she did and all she’d say
Stars shine bright along the Milky Way
But just like her they’re all miles away

(Tears don’t fall) tears don’t fall in space
Saltwater spreading all over my face
(Tears don’t fall) tears don’t fall in space
Space rocks, but it’s such an empty place
(Tears don’t fall) they don’t fall in space
Space rocks but it’s such an empty place (fade)

