My writing process (may contain flail).

1. I’ve got a brilliant idea! I must write it immediately!
2. Procrastinate for anything from a week to a year.
3. Start writing.
4. Suspect it wasn’t such a good idea after all.
5. Write for a while with less enthusiasm.
6. Have another brilliant idea.
7. Either give up and start that one or push on with the promise of the next idea as a reward.
8. Finish the (shitty) first draft. You know, eventually.
9. Relief.
10. Put it away so I can come back to it with “fresh eyes”.
11. Do all the things I couldn’t do while I was writing. Mostly the same things I did while I was writing, but without the “I should be writing” fear and guilt.
12. After a couple of weeks (or years) read with “fresh eyes.”
13. Realise how much work it needs.
14. So much work that I don’t think I can do it.
15. No, really.
16. Flail.
17. Realise the flailing is more painful than the rewriting (probably).
18. Trick myself into rewriting… “I’ll just make a few notes. I don’t have to write anything if I don’t want to.”
19. Do this for the whole book.
20. Feel like I’m getting somewhere. Think about how lucky I am to get to do this instead of having a proper job!
21. Start actual rewriting rather than just note-making.
22. Email people with research questions.
23. Obviously, I can’t write anything until I’ve got the answers to the research questions. That’s just common sense.
24. Get the answers.
25. Flail.
26. Flail.
27. Think “It’s not rocket science, FFS, it’s just a book. Get on with it.”
28. Get on with it.
29. Or not.
30. Write a blog post about my writing process so that next time I write a book (if there is a next time) I can remind myself that I do this every bloody time.

9 thoughts on “My writing process (may contain flail).

    1. Haha! I had two weeks of “I should be writing… Oh no! I finished! Hurrah!” and now I’m back to fear and guilt.

    1. What a lovely thing to say, thanks so much. I *think* it’s getting worse with each book, but I could just be remembering it wrong 🙂

Comments are closed.