Win Marcus Chown’s new book

I’m a big fan of Marcus Chown on Twitter and I’ve really enjoyed both Tweeting the Universe: Tiny Explanations of Very Big Ideas and his children’s book Felicity Frobisher and the Three-Headed Aldebaran Dust Devil, so I’m very happy to have been given the opportunity to give away three copies of his latest book, What A Wonderful World.

What a Wonderful World jacket

Marcus’s Summary:

What A Wonderful World is my attempt to explain everything – from finance to thermodynamics, sex to special relativity, human evolution to holography – in straight-forward, accessible, everyday language. My hope is that, if everything has passed you by in a high-speed blur, my book will quickly and painlessly bring you up to speed on how the world of the 21st century works. Of course, I haven’t really covered everything. Think of it as my attempt to explain everything… volume 1!

To be in with a chance of winning a copy of the book, simply answer the following questions. (You don’t have to get them right – they’re just for fun. I’ll put everyone who answers in a hat and draw out a winner.)

What percentage of cells in your body are alien – that is, microorganisms hitching a ride?

a)    5%

b)    95%

c)    99%

According to Einstein, the faster you travel:

a)    The taller you get

b)    The slimmer you get

c)    The lighter you get

The scientists who won the Nobel Prize for detecting the faint “afterglow” of the big bang thought they had found:

a)   the glow of pigeon droppings

b)   the glow of street lights

c)    the glow of glow worms

Closing date is 27th October and it’s only open to UK residents, I’m afraid (it’s a big book).

Catch Marcus on the rest of the tour:

14th October Teen Librarian
15th October Penguin Galaxy
16th October Open Democracy

3 thoughts on “Win Marcus Chown’s new book

Comments are closed.