It’s the most wonderful time of the year

I have been mad busy lately, which is why I haven’t been posting here much. I’ve got lots of admin for Authors for Philippines, my first novel for Catnip is due Christmas Eve (!) and I’m writing something else (that I haven’t told you about yet) that’s due in January. Plus I’m way behind on my 2013 reading challenge (I know it doesn’t matter, but I’ll be really annoyed with myself if I don’t make it).

When I’m busy, my natural urge is to stay indoors, eat rubbish and just work work work, but fortunately David and the boys don’t let me do that, so we’ve been out and about a bit too. And it’s been really gorgeous. Lots of my favourite weather lately – cold and bright – with amazing sunsets. And, of course, it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas… This will be the first Christmas we’ve spent at home, just us, ever and I’m really looking forward to it.

We made it to the Whalley Pickwick Festival for the first time (we’ve been meaning to go for years) and even though it was raining, it was lovely. I had mulled wine, a bison burger and Sticky Toffee Pudding. And there was carol singing.

1455916_10152111969725972_869183767_n

Harry and Joe laughing at Daddy who picked up his travel cup the wrong way round and spilled (thankfully not hot) coffee all over his face.

WP_20131130_026

This is why I love this time of year.

WP_20131209_005

David and I worked out we hadn’t been out just the two of us since February. So we went to see The Darkness. And it was fab.

WP_20131201_003

One of our (new) Christmas traditions is to go to a local (massive) garden centre, where they have Christmas lights and a cafe and these little Christmassy model village displays that are just gorgeous. Oh and meringue snowmen.

WP_20131130_038

WP_20131130_026

WP_20131130_035 WP_20131130_036

WP_20131130_040

So many gorgeous sunsets.

One thought on “It’s the most wonderful time of the year

  1. As much as I love family at Christmas, our best ever Christmas was just the five of us (plus P’s gf), alone. So relaxed and happy. All Christmases should be like that.

Comments are closed.