What I read in January

17290220I re-read the last couple of books in Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City series, in preparation for the new one.

I adored an advance copy of Rainbow Rowell’s Landline and flew through the long-awaited Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen.

Keren David’s Salvage is wonderful. Gripping, sad, romantic, funny, thought-provoking. Loved it.

I thought The Social Justice Advocate’s Handbook: A Guide to Gender by Sam Killermann was really wonderful and a fascinating introduction to gender issues. Plus it’s nowhere near as dry as the title suggests – it made me laugh out loud more than once.

I read A Year With Minecraft: Behind the Scenes at Mojang by Thomas Arnroth because my boys are Minecraft-obsessed and I thought it might help me understand why. And it did. But it also made me a Minecraft – or rather a Mojang – fan. Seems like a wonderful, ethical, company full of smart, nice, creative people.

From my books I’ve been meaning to read list, I read A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle and I enjoyed it… but I don’t think I really got it. No clue why it’s so popular.

Joe’s favourites this month were

Don’t Put Your Pants on Your Head, Fred by Caryl Hart and Leigh Hodgkinson, which made him laugh a lot. He was already laughing at the title before we even started reading, but we loved the story and illustrations too.

The Great Dog Bottom Swap by Peter Bently – another book that made Joe howl with laughter. It’s great fun to read too. Although he does look at dogs’ bums in public now.

My favourite picture book this month was Rosie Revere, Engineer by Andrea Beaty and David Roberts. The follow up to Iggy Peck, Architect (which we also loved), it’s just one of the coolest picture books I’ve read. Gorgeous illustrations, fab story, actively feminist… loved it.

Harry was all about Steve Cole’s very funny Cows in Action books this month. Can’t get enough of them and they’re fun for me to read too (and stealthily educational). 

