To read list 2014

i-know-why-the-caged-bird-singsYes, I know we’re almost halfway through February, but I’ve had a busy year so far (I’ve made a new website for starters – what do you think?).

So I decided that this year would be the year of reading books I’ve always meant to read, but haven’t got around to. Plus I wanted to read (or reread, I can’t remember which I’ve already read) Maya Angelou’s books. So here’s the list.

A Wrinkle in Time – Madeleine L’Engle

Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery

The Beauty Myth – Naomi Wolf

The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath

The Golden Notebook – Doris Lessing

The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck

Herland – Charlotte Perkins Gilman

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman (the only Gaiman I’ve read is Coraline and everyone tells me I need to read more)

The Wee Free Men – Terry Pratchett

Maya Angelou’s memoirs (I read the latest last year):

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Gather Together in My Name

Singin’ and Swingin’ and Gettin’ Merry Like Christmas

The Heart of a Woman

All God’s Children Need Traveling Shoes

A Song Flung Up to Heaven

I’m also going to try to read some of the books on Oprah’s 40 books before 40 list (even though I’m 42).

Do you have any reading goals this year? What are the books you’ve always meant to read, but haven’t got round to… yet?

6 thoughts on “To read list 2014

  1. I love The Wee Free Men (I’ve even got the lovely illustrated edition…!). I also want to read The Ocean at the End of the Lane – I bought Stardust last year but not got round to reading it yet.

  2. I read a couple of Neil Gaiman this year and was underwhelmed. I guess he’s just not for me. However, I loved The Grapes of Wrath and East of Eden by Steinbeck. I want to just find time to read books this year instead of tweets and/or Facebook updates late at night.

  3. I’ve been meaning to read A Wrinkle in Time for yonks! I’ve also been meaning to read a Steinbeck, but think I’ll start with Of Mice and Men. (The only one of his I’ve read is Travels with Charley, his memoir of his trip around America in a little trailer with his little dog, which is fantastic.) I also want to read Their Eyes Were Watching God, and I read all Angelou’s memoirs a few year ago but want to re-read I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. Might re-read The Bell Jar, too, I haven’t read it since I was 17, and I bet I’d get even more out of it now. Wasn’t The Golden Notebook going to be on the list, btw?

  4. If you find you like Neil Gaiman, try his ‘The Graveyard Book.’
    Definitely on my’ Top 10 Books of My Life So Far’ list are:
    Chris Wooding’s ‘Poison’ and
    Mitch Albom’s ‘The Five People You Meet in Heaven.’

Comments are closed.