What I read in February

18666181From my to read in 2014 list, I re-read I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou, which was wonderful, obviously. I also really enjoyed The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion and Redefining Realness: My Path to Womanhood, Identity, Love & So Much More by Janet Mock, which is brave, important and inspiring.

My favourite YA books this month were The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M Danforth – a fascinating story, beautifully written, and The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E Smith – really charming romance with multiple well-realised settings.

My absolute favourite this month was We Were Liars by E Lockhart. I’m a huge fan of E Lockhart, but this one blew me away.

This month, David decided to start reading Roald Dahl books to Harry (it’s almost always been me who read to Harry in the past, but D wanted to take over). He picked James and the Giant Peach and they both loved it. In fact, when they finished Harry was bereft, saying “What am I going to read now?!” and then later picked up another copy in a book shop and said, “I just really miss it…” (They’ve moved on to Charlie and the Chocolate Factory now.)

Joe’s favourites were Cow by Malachy Doyle, which is just the perfect combination of text and illustrations and a joy to read.  

My Big Shouting Day by Rebecca Patterson is also a joy for me to read because I get to SHOUT. I love it because the main character is so much like Joe and at the end of the book, Joe asked if we could cuddle up like they do in the book and start afresh – no shouting – the following day.

We also read two picture books I’ve been wanting to read for ages: On a Beam of Light: A Story of Albert Einstein by Jennifer Berne and The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein. Both wonderful.

