What, Why and How I Write

I was tagged to do this by Catherine Ryan Howard and I said yes because I think she’s completely fabulous (seriously, if you have even the slightest interest in self-publishing you must read her blog) and also because, well, she begged a bit…

1. What am I working on?

I’ve just started the second book in the Reel Friends series. The first, Starring Kitty, comes out in June and there’s a brand new blurb…

Kitty’s keeping secrets. Like how she’s struggling to cope with her mum’s illness. And how she’s falling for the girl with the purpley-red hair . . .

Entering a film-making competition with her best friends Sunny and Hannah seems like the perfect distraction. But then Dylan wants to be more than Kitty’s secret. Is Kitty ready to let her two worlds meet or will she risk losing Dylan forever?

grover2. How does my work differ from others in the genre?

Every book* mentions a Sesame Street character.

3. Why do I write what I do?

Because it’s what I wanted to read when I was a teen. Smart girls, cute boys, gorgeous settings, Sesame Street characters…

writing4. How does my writing process work?

Have an idea. Start writing furiously and excitedly. Lose interest. Moan, complain, wonder what else I can do for a living, realise there’s nothing. Force myself to carry on. Eventually drag myself to the end of the story. Procrastinate for anything between a week to a year. Get on with rewriting. Complain, flail, cry. Go to a café and start making notes for the next draft. Realise I have the best job in the world. Regret all the moaning, crying, flailing, procrastination. Finish the novel. Repeat. Every. Damn. Time.

* Except Della Says: OMG!

The writers I invited to take part in this tour** are:

Helen Grant

7A09B565-7746-408A-A9CF-CEE519FC6182Helen Grant writes contemporary YA thrillers with international settings. She was born in London but has lived in Spain, Germany and Belgium. Her first book, The Vanishing of Katharina Linden, was set in Bad Münstereifel in Germany, her home for 7 years, and her latest book, Silent Saturday (an urbex thriller), is set in Flanders. Helen now lives in Scotland where she spends her spare time poking about in ruined churches and castles, and writing ghost stories on the side.

http://helengrantbooks.blogspot.co.uk

Sophia Bennett

Loo picSophia lives in London, where she loves visiting the shops and museums, and also the writing shed at the bottom of her garden. She has written theThreads series for girls of 9-12 who like high fashion and saving the world. For slightly older readers, Sophia has also written The Look and You Don’t Know Me. Her new book, The Castle, is out in the summer of 2014. You can find her here: sophiabennett.com.

 

** I know, I know, there’s meant to be three. But I could only scare up two. Sorry.

3 thoughts on “What, Why and How I Write

Comments are closed.