What I read in March

2706818Our favourite picture books this month were Forever Young by Bob Dylan – the song’s lyrics with wonderful illustrations by Paul Rogers – which led to Joe asking to watch Dylan videos on YouTube.

The Dot and Ish by Peter H Reynolds – I love Reynolds’ books. These two are about creativity, about not being afraid to paint a picture, even if you can only do a dot or even if the vase you paint is only vase-ish. Inspiring for me as well as for Joe.

18802876Also inspiring is Girl With a White Dog by Anne Booth. I’ve been desperate to read this – Anne is a Twitter friend and one of the kindest, most compassionate people I follow. I knew her book would be wonderful and it is.

For the same age group, but completely different is Sesame Seade: Sleuth on Skates by Clémentine Beauvais. I flew through this book. It’s clever and silly and funny and smart and it made me laugh out loud.

18482265I didn’t read much YA this month (because I’m writing it), but I did read Boys Don’t Knit by Tom Easton. And I loved it. So funny. Really looking forward to the next book in the series.

I read an advance copy of Keep Your Friends Close by Paula Daly and loved it. I don’t really read crime – too chicken – but Paula’s books are so gripping with wonderful, complex, characters and a fantastic sense of place.

18170143I admit I’ve got a smidge of a crush on Chris Hadfield, so I was excited to get my hands on An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth. And it was wonderful. I quoted it so much that David started to get a smidge jealous.

I really enjoyed Show Your Work!: 10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered by Austin Kleon. It’s a short, quick read, but full of interesting and entertaining tips on how to get your work out there. I’m planning to use it as a guide for a blog series in the near future.

2 thoughts on “What I read in March

  1. Thank you! I had an unexpectedly difficult morning & was feeling v tired & a bit low – so it was LOVELY to read your review of ‘Girl with a White Dog’. the other books look great – I love recommendations!

Comments are closed.