What I read in April

I’m falling way behind with the books I’ve always meant to read list. I should probably dedicate May to catching up on that. (I probably won’t though.)

51e3flT3mlL._SY346_My favourite adult book this month was The Days of Anna Madrigal which I finally made myself read. I’d been putting it off because I didn’t want the series to be over, but at the same time I worried that I might die without finishing it. (“That, my friend, is a dark side.”) I adored it, of course.

I also really loved We’ll Always Have Paris: A Mother/Daughter Memoir by Jennifer Coburn. Jennifer Coburn started taking her daughter on extended European holidays – just the two of them – from when her daughter was just eight. The travelogue and the mother/daughter relationship is interspersed with stories of Coburn’s relationship with her late father – often painful, but also beautiful.

UnknownMy favourite YA book this month was The Savages by Matt Whyman. It’s a story of a cannibal family and David thought it sounded disgusting and couldn’t understand why I was reading it, but I thought it was funny and creepy and thought-provoking. Looking forward to the sequel!

If I hadn’t read the Armistead Maupin, then Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens would have been my absolute favourite book of the month. It’s the first in an MG mystery series, set in a girls’ boarding school, and I absolutely loved it. My friend Cait said she wanted to live in it and I completely agree – I didn’t want it to end. Can’t wait for the next one.

Harry and David have been reading Matilda. I don’t think they’re enjoying it as much as Charlie & the Chocolate Factory, but I’m hoping they’ll enjoy it enough that we can all go and see the musical.

9780552567787-largeOur favourite picture book this month was Little Answer by Tim Hopgood – about an answer looking for a question. So cute and funny and thought-provoking.

To my horror, Joe says he doesn’t like the Mo Willems Pigeon or Elephant & Piggie books (he likes the Knuffle Bunny books, thank goodness) so I was very relieved that he loves Oliver Jeffers’ books. We re-read them all this month: Stuck and This Moose Belongs to Me are our favourites.

2 thoughts on “What I read in April

Comments are closed.