What I read in May

Unknown-1I planned this year to read (or re-read) all of Maya Angelou’s memoirs. I’d only managed one, but as soon as I heard that she’d died, all I wanted was to hear her voice in my head, so I read Gather Together in My Name. And it was wonderful.

I also read her picture book, Life Doesn’t Frighten Me, to Joe. We both loved it.

Unknown-1Joe and I re-read all the Oliver Jeffers books we have and we got a couple more from the library. The Incredible Book Eating Boy was Joe’s favourite. Stuck remains mine.

Once David finished reading Matilda to Harry, I read him Susie Day’s Pea’s Book of Best Friends. I’ve read it before (I adore the series), but loved rediscovering it with Harry.

9780307739766_p0_v1_s260x420I really enjoyed Top of the Rock: Inside the Rise and Fall of Must See TV by Warren Littlefield and it made me want to re-watch a bunch of TV shows and to finally get around to watching Seinfeld (yes, I know) and Mad About You. So interesting.

Another book I’ve been meaning to read for years is Anne of Green Gables. So many of my friends love it so much that I knew I’d love it too and I really did. Can’t wait to read the rest.

Unknown-1Eloisa James is one of my favourite authors – and one I probably never would have discovered had her books not been sent to me for review – and Three Weeks With Lady X was another fantastic read. (And another one just turned up yesterday. I’m very happy she’s so prolific.)

 

