London, baby!

Last week, I had one of the best days I’ve ever experienced. In the morning I had an exciting sekrit meeting and then, along with author friends Keren David and Candy Gourlay, I went to Buckingham Palace.

10474457_10152893282202678_2385650217324002436_n

We were invited to a garden party by the Red Cross because of the money we raised with the Authors for the Philippines auction at the end of last year. I’ve wanted to go to a Palace Garden Party since I was little, when Swap Shop had one (The Wombles were there), so I was very excited. But I didn’t really have any idea what to expect.

10336754_10152893298837678_7696513230739922994_n

In the end, it was glorious. Much more relaxed than we’d expected it to be. It was a really hot day, the gardens were beautiful (there’s a lake there! I had no idea!), the food was wonderful, and we met some really lovely people. In the taxi afterwards all I could think was “I’ve just spent the afternoon eating cucumber sandwiches at Buckingham Palace…” Amazing. Thank you so much to the Red Cross for inviting us. And thank you to Candy for the photos.

From there, we went to lovely James Dawson’s book launch (for Say Her Name, which is too scary for me to read), where I chatted to lots of other lovely publishing people. Well, I say “chatted”, it was mostly me saying “I’VE BEEN TO BUCKINGHAM PALACE, YOU KNOW?!” And then went for dinner with author friends (and had the best steak I’ve ever tasted).

It was just a perfect day.
And all of it came out of writing.
Out of the YA writing community that I am so lucky and so honoured to be a part of.

4 thoughts on “London, baby!

  1. Well, it all came out of YOUR writing, and your heart and spirit combined with other people’s. Don’t write yourself out of it. Very proud to call you a friend. 🙂

Comments are closed.