What I read in November

I finally read my friend Sarah Painter’s book The Secrets of Ghosts and I loved it. Romantic, funny and genuinely spooky.

Another book that’s been on my tbr for ages is Dead Romantic by CJ Skuse. I absolutely love CJ’s books, they’re so funny and weird. Much like CJ herself…

I had pre-ordered Amy Poehler’s Yes Please on Kindle, but when friends started receiving their hard copies a few days before publication date, I couldn’t contain myself – I scooted off to an actual shop and bought a hardback copy. And I adored it, as I knew I would. Funny, wise, and kind. I didn’t want it to end. (I cancelled the Kindle order.)

I’ve loved all of Mhairi McFarlane’s books so far and It’s Not Me, It’s You was no exception. It took me longer to get into this one than her other two, but I still really enjoyed it and it has one of the hottest heroes I’ve read for a while.

I’ve wanted to re-read The Swish of the Curtain – one of my childhood favourites – for a while now, but I was worried it wouldn’t be as good as I remembered. It wasn’t actually anything like I remembered, but I really enjoyed it anyway. I’ll definitely be reading more in the series (I don’t remember if I did as a kid).

I wasn’t at all sure about reading Caitlin Moran’s How to Build a Girl. I was annoyed at her comments about there not being any books featuring girls having adventures (check out the YA section, Caitlin, it’ll blow your mind) and the description sounded very much like the same story she’s already told in The Chronicles of Narmo, Raised by Wolves and How to be a Woman. Much of it was pretty familiar, but I didn’t care. I loved it. Sweet and smart and very, very funny.

I probably wouldn’t have read Seven Days by Eve Ainsworth if I hadn’t got to know Eve online – I don’t really like reading about bullying (I know you’re not supposed to like it, but what can I say, I’m a wuss), but I’m so glad I did. It’s a quick read, but an original and powerful one that I think will really resonate with teens.

